top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Blog Post #10 - Past Classes

While looking into past students projects on I came across a really interesting one. I had to look through a few different blogs before I found this one, but it was so worth it. I am choosing to write about Mariam Mckee’s projects for this blog post. In Mariam’s reflection, she said that she originally felt slightly confused about the third project, but overall she really enjoyed seeing the creativity of her classmates when all the genres finally came together. She is Muslim-American so her first project was on the Syrian/Muslim community she is a part of. This led into her second project, which featured the research question: “How has America's history of racial inequality shaped our modern day and future?” The experiences that Mariam shared were from such a unique perspective that I could not resist reading every single word of her papers when I had not even intended to. The genres she used were original and captivating. Her first genre was protesting. She had attended protests prior to and following the election of President Trump. Protesting is such a creative kind of genre that I never would have even considered it a “genre”. Her next approach was personally my favorite. Mariam wore a hijab as a genre, as it is a form of communication. For her third and final genre, Mariam utilized the power of social media and tweeting. She created a twitter account promoting the “Students Organize for Syria” group. This method is a great way to raise awareness, which is why I plan on using it for one of my own genres. Overall, I felt reviewing Mariam's work was such a great way to get of feel of all the many ways I can bring creativity into my project.

Link to Mariam's Wix:

https://mm16br.wixsite.com/mysite/project-3


bottom of page