top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Project 3 - Email

Below you will find the letter that I emailed to a wealthy man from my hometown. I find this to be a smart way to utilize a genre because I could have got someone interested in making a hefty donation to Show Hope. Of course, my intended audience is the man I am emailing this letter to. My goal is for him to donate to the cause. I feel that my goal is possible because in the letter I used logos, pathos, and ethos. I brought out the facts when I specifically talked about what Show Hope does and mentioned how expensive adoption is. I played on his emotions by talking about special needs orphans in China. He is a parent so hearing about orphans would probably affect him. And finally, there was credibility because a pastor in our town has worked with this group so it would be viewed as trustworthy by him.

Dear Mr. Wildstien,

For the past several weeks in my English class at Florida State University I have focused on researching an adoption organization that helps special needs orphans in China. There is a chance that you have heard of Show Hope because a pastor and his family in our community was assisted by this group during their own adoption process. Show Hope’s mission is to care for orphans, while breaking down adoption barriers. They are doing this in 4 specific ways: care centers, student mission trips, pre and post adoption support, and adoption aid. One of the most impactful is the adoption aid. If not for the grants families receive from Show Hope that assist in paying for these pricey adoption (which can be about $25,000), some adoptions would have never taken place. There are many people out there that have the desire to adopt, but lack the financial ability. I am writing you today to ask you to consider contributing to this nonprofit organization. You are well known for your generosity and I pray that you become a part of this international community that continues to grow.

Sincerely,

Sara Luepschen


bottom of page